Senior Phase and Senior Phase Courses

To look at the school course descriptors for subjects select one of these options:-

Fourth Year Choices

Fifth Year Choices

Sixth Year Choices

Choice Information and Choice forms

Information and support notes

S3 to S4  2024                             S4 to S5                                                          S5 to S6 

Choice forms – on Microsoft Forms through Glow

Available courses lists and instructions:-

S3 to S4  2024                              S4 to S5                                                             S5 to S6 



The Senior Phase

The overall purpose of the curriculum in Scotland is shown below and can be summed up as helping children and young people to become:

These are referred to as the “four capacities.”

The Senior Phase in Scottish Education runs from secondary 4 through the Secondary 6.  During this time pupils will specialise more and select courses which are accredited by the SQA.  These will usually be at National Level 3, 4 or 5, higher or Advanced Higher.

Descriptions of the content and assessment of these courses can be found by visiting the National Parent Forum of Scotland website and looking the Parents sections” on “Nationals in a Nutshell” and “Highers in a Nutshell.”


Literacy, numeracy and health and wellbeing are still recognised as being particularly important – these areas are seen as being the ‘responsibility of all’ staff as within the BGE.

You can find out more about Curriculum for Excellence and the Senior Phase here.